Who is taking new patients? Plan lists by provider type

Marketplace plan lists must say whether each provider takes new patients. We checked 1,909,677 listings. Overall, 10.06% say no and 13.16% do not say. It varies by provider type. Chiropractors say no most often, at 25.69%. Family doctors say no more often than family nurse practitioners.

The short version

When you pick a plan, you want to know two things about a doctor. Are they in the network? And will they see you?

Plan lists answer the second question with a flag: accepting new patients, yes or no.

We checked that flag across every provider type. Some types are much more likely to say no.

The rule behind the flag

Insurers on the federal marketplace must publish this.

Under 45 CFR 156.230, a plan must publish "an up-to-date, accurate, and complete provider directory." That includes "information on which providers are accepting new patients."

So the flag is required. Whether each one is right is a separate question, which we come back to below.

What we checked

We used the provider lists that marketplace insurers publish for 2026. Our dataset holds 1,909,677 providers, with one new-patient value for each.

We matched each provider to the federal provider registry. That gave us each provider's main specialty, using the official NUCC provider taxonomy names.

All but 62 providers matched the registry.

The overall picture

New-patient flagProvidersShare
Accepting1,466,29576.78%
Not accepting192,12710.06%
Not stated251,25513.16%
Total1,909,677100%

About one listing in ten says no. More than one in eight says nothing at all.

Primary care: doctors vs nurse practitioners

Provider typeProviders listedNot accepting new patientsShare not acceptingNot stated
Internal medicine doctor57,4157,81813.62%7.60%
Family medicine doctor78,10010,47913.42%9.27%
Physician assistant71,1299,38213.19%0.20%
Pediatrician30,9993,50011.29%6.17%
OB-GYN22,5312,43510.81%6.71%
Family nurse practitioner106,95510,95710.24%1.18%

Family medicine doctors say no 13.42% of the time. Family nurse practitioners say no 10.24% of the time.

There are also more family nurse practitioners listed: 106,955, against 78,100 family medicine doctors.

Mental health: who says no most

Provider typeProviders listedNot accepting new patientsShare not acceptingNot stated
Marriage and family therapist15,9832,56416.04%5.98%
Mental health counselor70,12810,49114.96%7.41%
Clinical psychologist16,2151,6079.91%9.61%
Clinical social worker91,5159,0319.87%5.90%
Psychiatrist19,9661,7298.66%9.66%
Psychiatric nurse practitioner32,0452,4907.77%6.05%
Professional counselor57,2684,0667.10%5.51%

Marriage and family therapists and mental health counselors say no most often in this group.

Psychiatrists say no less often than counselors, at 8.66%. Psychiatric nurse practitioners are lower still, at 7.77%.

Other common care

Provider typeProviders listedNot accepting new patientsShare not acceptingNot stated
Chiropractor40,48610,40025.69%18.53%
Physical therapist66,3368,13612.26%6.77%
Ophthalmologist14,4171,64311.40%12.58%
Orthopaedic surgeon12,9851,0688.22%11.58%
Cardiologist13,2731,0698.05%8.14%
Optometrist61,2804,3167.04%11.77%
General dentist51,4752,7865.41%8.02%

Chiropractors stand out. One in four says no, and another 18.53% do not say either way.

Doctor vs nurse practitioner, side by side

Type of careDoctor says noNurse practitioner says no
Family care13.42% (family medicine doctor)10.24% (family nurse practitioner)
Mental health8.66% (psychiatrist)7.77% (psychiatric nurse practitioner)

In both pairs, the nurse practitioner is listed as not accepting less often.

We are not saying why. These are what the lists say, not a measure of real wait times.

Why "not stated" matters

A blank flag is not a yes.

For some types the gap is large. Chiropractors are blank 18.53% of the time and ophthalmologists 12.58%.

If the flag is blank, call before you count on that provider.

Can you trust a "yes"?

Not fully. We report what the plan lists say. We did not call each office to check.

A listing can say yes after an office has closed its books. It can also say no after an office has reopened.

Our post on why your plan's doctor list can be wrong covers the wider problem.

How to use this when you choose a plan

What this does not tell you

Our data covers the provider lists marketplace insurers publish for 2026. It does not cover employer plans or Medicaid.

We keep one new-patient value per provider. A provider who works at several offices may take new patients at one and not another.

We used each provider's main specialty from the registry. Some providers work in more than one area.

Where these numbers come from

Every figure in this post comes from our own database, queried live on the day of publication.

Questions people ask

How many providers on plan lists are not taking new patients?

In our data, 192,127 of 1,909,677 providers are listed as not accepting new patients. That is 10.06%. Another 251,255, or 13.16%, do not say.

Which provider types say no most often?

Among common types, chiropractors say no most often, at 25.69%. Marriage and family therapists are next at 16.04%, then mental health counselors at 14.96%.

Are nurse practitioners easier to get in with than doctors?

On paper, slightly. Family nurse practitioners are listed as not accepting 10.24% of the time. Family medicine doctors are at 13.42%. We have not measured real wait times.

Are psychiatrists taking new patients?

Most say yes. In our data, 8.66% of psychiatrists are listed as not accepting new patients, and 9.66% do not say.

Do insurers have to show if a doctor takes new patients?

Yes, on the federal marketplace. The rule requires an "up-to-date, accurate, and complete provider directory" that shows which providers are accepting new patients.

What does it mean if the flag is blank?

It means the list does not say. Treat it as unknown and call the office before you rely on that provider.

Can a provider list say yes when the office is full?

Yes. The flag is only as current as the insurer's last update. Always call to confirm.

Does this cover my employer plan?

No. These numbers come from marketplace plan lists for 2026. Employer and Medicaid plans are not included.